The Light 103.9 Featured Video
Tyscot Records Anniversary

Source: Tyscot Records / Tyscot Records

Dr. Leonard Scott is one of the founders of Tyscot Records and they are celebrating 40 years of music and I got a chance to talk with him today.

Listen to the interview:

With “Feel Good! Celebrating 40 Years of Life Changing Music” – 15-Track Compilation Album Featuring Works by John P. Kee, Kirk Franklin, and an Early Babyface Production Is In Stores Now

Indianapolis, IN: “Feel Good! Celebrating 40 Years of Life Changing Music” (Tyscot Records, LLC) is now available in terrestrial and cyber stores everywhere. This inspiring fifteen-track collection concisely chronicles the recorded history of Tyscot Records – the oldest existing African-American gospel music label in the U.S.A. – with selected songs or artists who have made the legendary firm stay afloat and set sail for the last four life-changing decades.

The Tyscot Records story began in 1976 when a dentist named Dr. Leonard Scott and his nephew, L. Craig Tyson decided to record their church choir, the Christ Church Apostolic Radio Choir. Their inaugural LP “Feel Good” was born and so was a legacy that has given the world classic recordings by John P. Kee, Deitrick Haddon, VaShawn Mitchell, Casey J, Anthony Brown & group therAPy and The Rance Allen Group among scores of others.  The company also published one of the first songs by Indianapolis native, Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, who produced “Say You Believe” on the Tyscot act  Deliverance.

Dr. Scott kicks off this compilation with a fresh, rousing revamp of “Feel Good” that is rapidly rising on gospel radio playlists from coast to coast. The project is rounded out with soul-stirring songs such as “Hold On” (The Pentecostal Ambassadors), “Say You Believe” (Deliverance), “Holy One” (Trinity Temple Full Gospel Mass Choir featuring Kirk Franklin),  “Jesus Is Real” (The New Life Community Choir featuring John P. Kee), “How Majestic” (The PAW Mass Choir), “It’s Only A Test” (Bishop Larry D. Trotter & Sweet Holy Spirit), “Fire” (Deitrick Haddon & Voices of Unity), “A Testimony” (Rodnie Bryant & CCMC), “Don’t Last-Remix” (Vashawn Mitchell & Friends), “Closest Friend” (Rance Allen Group),  “Not About Us” (Bishop Noel Jones & The City of Refuge Sanctuary Choir), “He’s Able” (Darwin Hobbs), “Do It Again” (Anthony Brown & group therAPy) and “Better-The Benediction Song” (Casey J).

Also On The Light 103.9 FM: